INDEPENDENT PUBLISHERS SHOWCASE #13

INDEPENDENT PUBLISHERS SHOWCASE

# 13. URBANE PUBLICATIONS

This week I am more than delighted to welcome to Independent Publishers Showcase an indie publisher I have known since I first started my blog over six years ago we have shared some great books. Welcome to the showcase Urbane Publications.

Urbane Publications was founded in 2014 by Publishing Director Matthew Smith who has over 25 years of experience in the publishing business and with over 3,000 books he has consulted or published. I have met Matthew a number of times at the London Book Fair and his passion for publishing is boundless. Kerry Jane-Lowery is the Managing Director at Urbane. Kerry also has a passion for publishing but also has written one of her own books on particle physics for CERN. Also worked for The International Committee of the Red Cross working in extreme conditions with prisoners of war, hostages, genociders and displaced people.

Publishing books from established and debut writers, and take my word for I have read some incredible books from Urbane Publications.

Keep an eye on their Twitter feed @urbanebooks or visit their website: Urbane Publications

A selection of the fiction titles currently released and soon to be released through:

Triple Jepardy by Christopher Lowery

Published: 18th February 2021

Summary:

A mysterious batch of diamonds that has lain undisturbed for almost a half century, reappears to be sold at public auctions in Switzerland. But what is the true provenance of these priceless gems, and who is behind their discovery and sale?

Jenny Bishop believes they are notorious blood diamonds with a legacy of deceit, corruption and murder, and is drawn into a web of intrigue and threat as she tries to unravel a conspiracy that threatens everything she knows and loves.

The perfect page-turning thriller read for fans of Frederick Forsyth, LJ Ross, Gerald Seymour, and Wilbur Smith.

Fall Out by M. N Grenside

Published: 21st May 2020

Summary:

An LA screenwriter is killed shortly after completing his latest script, FALL OUT – a thriller destined to be a blockbuster but written with a secret double purpose.

Echoing events from the past the screenplay is sent to a very specific group of people and will change their lives forever. All are connected to a movie that had abruptly stopped shooting in the jungles of the Philippines years before. FALL OUT exposes the truth about a conspiracy and murder that led to a half-a-billion-dollar fortune for a select few.

Follow the story of Producer Marcus Riley, who sets out on an increasingly dangerous quest to get FALL OUT made. From a powerful Agent’s office in Hollywood, hidden treasures in Belgravia and a remote chalet in the Swiss Alps to murder at the Cannes Film Festival, Marcus teams up with designer Melinda (Mako) de Turris as they and the other recipients of the screenplay are pursued by an assassin from the past.

With clues cleverly concealed in the screenplay, Marcus and Mako unravel a lethal puzzle that for some will bring death, others the truth and ends in a cave with a shocking secret…..

Jennifer Juniper: by Jenny Boyd

Non-fiction/Biography

Release Date: 12th March 2020

Summary:

‘THE BEAUTIFULLY POIGNANT STORY OF A PARTNER, MOTHER, FRIEND, AND TRULY INSPIRATIONAL WOMAN’ – MICK FLEETWOOD, MUSICIAN

Jenny Boyd’s extraordinary life is the stuff of movies and novels, a story of incredible people and places experienced at a pivotal time in the 20th century.

As an up-and-coming young model, Jenny found herself at the heart of Carnaby Street in London, immersed in the fashion and pop culture of the Swinging 60s. With boyfriend Mick Fleetwood, sister Pattie, George Harrison and the rest of the Beatles, she lived the London scene. But as a natural Flower Child, Jenny soon became part of the counter-culture in San Francisco during the Flower Power era, witnessing the Summer of Love; she was the inspiration for Donovan’s famous song, Jennifer Juniper, and her photograph was featured inside the box set of his eponymous album A Gift from a Flower to a Garden.

After working in The Beatles shop, Apple, the first of its kind, Jenny attended Maharishi Mahesh Yogi’s ashram in India to study meditation with her sister and the Beatles, witnessing their creativity and the genesis of songs that would later appear on the White Album.

Despite being attuned to the spiritual bloom and innocence of the 60s, Jenny also experienced first-hand the turmoil and decadence of the 70s and 80s. Her two marriages to Mick Fleetwood, founder member of Fleetwood Mac, brought her to the forefront of the world of rock and roll – and its fame, money, drugs and heartache. Struggling in the darkness to find and develop her own voice and identity, Jenny went to college, achieving a Masters in Counseling Psychology and a PhD in Humanities – her dissertation on musicians and creativity became the critically-acclaimed book Musicians in Tune.

Jenny has spent her life in the company of some of the greatest musical and cultural influencers of the last 50 years – and the journey she takes to finding her own sense of self and creative ability makes Jennifer Juniper a truly captivating and inspiring story.

Eden Interrupted by Beverly Harvey

Release Date: 6th June 2019

Summary:

90s popstar Ben Wilde and his bride Lisa return from honeymoon to find a cuckoo in the nest and a surprise European tour in the diary.

Lisa befriends neighbour Rosemary, who is also home alone while husband Nigel travels for work. But will the women’s grim suspicions be confirmed, or does absence make the heart grow paranoid?

In the village, Eden Hill’s coffee shop is under new management with the arrival of divorced Mum, Chloe, and troubled teen son, Jake. But serving flat whites leaves Chloe feeling, well, flat until she meets Caleb, a widowed father of two; if only Jake and Caleb weren’t at loggerheads.

New to Eden Hill are Jan and Martin Bevan, but a frosty reception leaves them wondering if they’ve made a huge mistake.

From the writer of Seeking Eden, Eden Interrupted is another sizzling slice-of-life drama where paths (and swords) cross, and misunderstandings abound. Perfect for fans of Fiona Gibson and Marian Keyes.

Stealth by Hugh Fraser

Release Date: 4th October 2018

Summary:

London 1967. A working girl is brutally murdered in a Soho club. Rina Walker takes out the killer and attracts the attention of a sinister line-up of gangland enforcers with a great deal to prove.

When a member of British Military Intelligence becomes aware of her failure to fulfill a contract issued by an inmate of Broadmoor, he forces her into the deadly arena of the Cold War, with orders to kill an enemy agent.

Rina needs to call upon all her dark skills, not simply to survive, but to protect the ones she loves.

For further information on the publications from Urbane Publications please visit their website: Urbane Publications

You can also find them on Twitter: @urbanebooks and also their Instagram feed @urbane_publications and also Facebook: @urbane-publications

If you have enjoyed this week’s showcase, please look out for my next Independent Publishers Showcase next week. If you are an indie publisher and would like to add your name to the showcase, you can contact me via Twitter: @TheLastWord1962

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s